FINAL, APPROVED MINUTES of the Nevada Archaeological Association

Annual General Meeting, April 30, 2011 Held in Elko, Nevada

Call to Order: The meeting was called to order at 5:16 pm by President Eva Jensen in a meeting room at the Red Lion Inn in Elko, Nevada, during the 2011 Annual Nevada Archaeological Association Meeting.

Attendees: NAA Board members in attendance were President Eva Jensen, Greg Seymour, Daron Duke, Liz Russell , Jeff Wedding, Lynn Furnis, Karla Jageman, Susan Edwards, and George Phillips, as well as Sali Underwood (SHPO Representative), and approximately 14 NAA non-Board members.

President's Report: President Jensen thanked the current Board for all of their work and support, and thanked the general membership for their support.

She announced the retirement of two Board members – Hal Rager and Daron Duke. Hal resigned in February, 2011 after serving for several years as Web Master for the NAA. Daron had been in charge of membership for seven years, since 2004.

The President also thanked the Elko Chapter of the NAA, and especially Tim and Donna Murphy for hosting and arranging the Annual Meeting in Elko.

The Board is still working on revising the Association's by-laws and hopes to complete this project soon. We are still striving to get the NAA journals completed for years 2009 and 2010. But they are not finished yet.

Daron Duke has scanned all of our journals except for one volume, for posting on the NAA website. In the future, we probably will produce fewer hard copies of the journals, since each year we are left with many unsold or undistributed copies. These accumulate each year and the NAA President is left to store them and try to find outlets for them. It has become very cumbersome.

The NAA may also create and maintain an archive of our past meetings and NAA history.

Treasurer's Report: Very briefly, George Phillips summarized the NAA accounts. At the beginning of 2011, we had \$7,000 + in the bank. As of now, the account has increased more than \$14,000, through receiving of 2010 grant money from SHPO, NAA memberships, etc. The current balance is \$24,000 plus.

Membership Report: Daron Duke reported that NAA membership is doing pretty well this year, but it is slowly decreasing year by year. We would like to reverse that trend and are trying to find ways to better promote the NAA and to efficiently sign up new members and collect in a timely manner dues from existing and renewing members .

Elections: Steve Daron announced that election of the NAA Board would now take place. He asked who on the current (2010) Board would like to run again for the Board. Eva Jensen, Jeff Wedding, Sue Edwards, Liz Russell, George Phillips, Lynn Furnis, and Karla Jageman indicated they wish to run again. This leaves two Board positions open, as Daron Duke and Greg Seymour indicated they would not run

for 2011. Nominations were opened for two new Board candidates. Mark Giambastiani and Craig Hauer were nominated. The General Meeting attendees voted to keep the seven existing members on the Board for 2011. Then they voted in favor of having Mark and Craig on the Board as new members. So, the full slate of nine Board members was voted in.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:30 pm. Time for cocktail hour and then the banquet!

Respectfully submitted by Lynn Furnis, NAA Secretary.